Nargaroth – Semper Fidelis (2007)

nargaroth.jpg

In 2007 the well known German buffoon René Kanwulf and his Band Nargaroth released a new record: “Semper Fidelis”.
I have to tell you that I
only discovered this record a week ago and I am just wondering why! Well there are only two plausible answers.
First, René
has once again promoted his record in Talkshows and as I do not really watch them I didn’t hear about his new album.
Second, megalomaniac and Varg Vikernes “friend” René managed with his dumb-ass statements that I forgot about the music of Nargaroth.


Furthermore I have to say that Nargaroth never really was one of my favourite Black Metal Bands but they nevertheless produced some great, kvlt songs which I really enjoy listening to.
My personal highlights of the Nargaroth discography are the Herbstleyd, Geliebte des Regens and Rasulka Part 1 records, and so I was looking forward to another good depressive record.
But “Sempre Fidelis” doesn’t reflect this cold and beautiful depressive atmosphere the records quoted above do. With the repetitive melodic riffs and the typical Kanwulf screams, Nargaroth tries to reproduce their well known hypnotic atmosphere but it doesn’t work this time and it simply sounds half-assed and sometimes even boring.
Nevertheless this is an album a lot of bands wish they had released. It is just a pity that Nargaroth has set the bar so high with 3 previous records and that Kanwulf is completely absurd and has lost his
credibility, which makes the music certainly not better.

It is old but I have to show it to you again;)

5/10
(innerwille)

 

 

 

~ by innerwille on March 9, 2008.

5 Responses to “Nargaroth – Semper Fidelis (2007)”

  1. fuck off!!
    go listen to popmusic

  2. hey i see your well choosen arguments!

  3. Thanks for your comment Kanwulf^^

  4. no thanks

  5. […] Nargaroth-Semper Fidelis […]

Leave a Reply

 
