Avantasia – The Scarecrow

avantasia album

Well where should I start… at the beginning I didn’t want to review this album after the first time listening to it. I am a big fan of power metal, mostly progressive power metal with strong song structures and a lot of innovation, but this album… is by far one of the worst I have heard in the last couple of years. Avantasia is a well known project in the power metal world, created, written and produced by Tobias Sammet from Edguy, and the concept of the first CDs were to create a Metalopera, in genre of Ayreon, with lots of guest singers etc. but with more power.

 

Yet in this album … I cannot say what happened to the entire idea Tobias had, but this is by far a very commercial oriented album. The riffs, the songs, the melodies are like a real deja-vu from all the best power metal bands and hard rock bands I’ve heard: nothing really new or innovating is illustrated in this album. But the worst part of this album is that its really too much “love” in it: most of the songs are very cliché “kuschelrock” (cuddle rock) songs with a lot of cheesy texts and just plainly… a pain to hear. With titles like Carry Me Over, Cry Just A Little, I Don’t Believe In Your Love you can perhaps win a battle against Bon Jovi.

 

Frankly I am shocked about this album, musically its well executed, the singing well performed, there is a lot of power in songs like Another Angel Down or Devil In The Belfry, but the lack of new material, the lack of a better concept for the album and the commercial approach of some songs makes it one of those albums I would never buy. I would literally destroy the CD.

 

Maybe its only me, who is not used to “real” power metal, but as far as I listened to Iced Earth, Blind Guardian, Stratovarius, Dragonforce, Rhapsody and other bands in the same line, I’ve always seen something new, fresh and freely said “cool”. Songs which hammered into my head with a lot of great ideas, riffs and charisma. The themes and concepts were also very diverse in most cases with those bands, it felt like reading a fantasy book. But if “real” power metal is an aberration of newly remixed love songs in the style of the sixties rock bands in tight pants and a sex, drugs and rock’n’roll life then I will throw out every single power metal CD I posses and burn them.

(Respect and honour to those brave souls in rock who contributed a lot in making metal what it is today, I honour their way, what they brought with them, what the changed, but the times are different now and we need to move on to new things, ways.)

Sorry for this mess, but it is the way i feel about this album. End. Shotgun.
3/10
Benno (Rahjas)

~ by rahjas on February 23, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
